More than halfway over

The past few days have been interesting. This Sunday I worked on a project for my Photography class. Our assignment was to recreate a work of art. It could be a painting or another photograph. I chose two photographs I found on one of my favorite image sharing site (www.ffffound.com). Sunday morning a friend of mine, Dorien, came over to pose for the first photo. Although my room was darker and the setting was obviously quite different than the original I was fairly happy with the result. I am going to attempt to recreate the photograph again with different circumstances. I posted links to the pictures I took at the end of this post. The second photograph I ended up using Dorien as a model once again! She is great. This time I went to her building and took the picture from one of her windows. Her room faces the front of the building and they have a gate which I needed for my picture. This picture also turned out significantly different but I knew it would. In the original picture it was snowing and the angle was different but it turned out as I hoped it would. My professor liked that I tried as hard as I did and liked my photographs. It was fun acting like a ‘real’ photographer having to set up the scene and have a person model for me. I liked it! Yesterday, my photography class went to Amsterdam to see photography exhibitions. The first museum we went to showcased a Belgian photographer. I really enjoyed his work. He had very unique collections that had interesting stories behind them. After that we went to Foam, the Amsterdam Photography Museum. There was only one exhibition there currently. I liked that photographers work as well. Our professor told us that the photographer normally photographs people but for this exhibition she only photographed interior spaces so it was a new thing for her. I enjoyed the majority of the photographs in that collection. We walked across Amsterdam to yet another photography museum. This one was in a fabulous old building. I love the interiors of the buildings. Wood floors, big windows and winding staircases are few of my favorite things. This particular museum was showcasing photographs of the interiors of Chinese homes as well as a black and white series. I also enjoyed these. The black and white series was my favorite at this museum. The collection showcased many different unique subjects. We finished quite a bit earlier than my professor had intended for us to so took us to another exhibit. On the way there she realized that there was an exhibit at the Africa House so we stopped at that. The exhibit there was about grandmothers in Johannesburg, South Africa. I’m glad we stopped there. The pictures had a lot of emotion in them. Our last destination was an outdoor exhibit. The professor that taught the photography course at Central (the program I’m with) before the professor I currently have was the photographer of this exhibit. It was large, very colorful photographs along one of the squares of Amsterdam. He photographed homes located near the square and each time he photographed a new room he would take a picture of a particular part of the last room and put it in the new room therefore continuing the previous room into the next. Some of the rooms required that he had huge cutouts to place into the next room in order to pull of the photograph he was trying to create. I thought it was a great idea and that he executed it very well. If it weren’t for my professor I may not have grasped that he did that on my own. The exhibit also livened up the square (or plaats in Dutch) quite a bit! Not like Amsterdam needs to be livened up though.

It is 4:47 in the afternoon here. I am getting ready to pack for my weekend trip to Paris. I leave tomorrow afternoon after my Globalization class. We are taking the bus and it is a 7.5 hour ride! The weather in Paris this weekend is supposed to be around 70-75 degrees (F) which is going to be amazing! Many pictures and a blog post to follow.

Tulip[2]
(First photograph)

Dorien
(Second photograph)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ivzies/
^Link to my Flickr (photo sharing site) account.

About Ivy

I'm Ivy. 23 years old, resident of the great state of North Carolina. Lover of music, tea, unicorns, traveling and daydreaming. I have one blog about my semester abroad in the Netherlands. The other is a compilation of things I've written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

