Rotterdam

Yesterday we went to Rotterdam for the day. The city is the largest port city in Europe. It is characterized by Dutch people as “the most American city in the Netherlands.” Rotterdam has a lot of modern architecture because it was severely bombed during WWII and had to rebuild. On the outskirts of the city you can still see older Dutch architecture. I really enjoyed Rotterdam. It was about a 30 minute train ride from Leiden. Of course, it was foggy, wet and cold because that seems to be a pattern when we go on these excursions. We went to an art museum named Museum Van Boijmans Beuningen that I really enjoyed. There was a hammock/net that was suspended over a stairway that you could climb into and watch short films. My group loved it. I was also able to see an original Picasso. There was some modern sculptures and paintings as well as older pieces from the 19th century and before. We ate lunch in the city and I’m pretty sure all of us opted to eat Chinese food. I haven’t had Chinese food since before I left to come here. I got fried rice with chicken and chili sauce. It was delicious and fairly inexpensive. We also were able to see the inside of a cube house. It would be difficult to live in (and people actually do, they are 200,000 euro) because it literally is a cube and the walls are slanted but it was cool to see them. Rotterdam has the feel of a major city but it was different than Amsterdam. I will try to take another trip to Rotterdam because I feel like there is still a lot to do/see. Basically the Netherlands is beautiful and full of amazing things to do/see.

Rotterdam

I created a new photo album. The photos I uploaded are all from Rotterdam.
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=113692&id=1207657232&l=968fee6387

Link to the museum is below.

http://www.boijmans.nl/en/

About Ivy

I'm Ivy. 23 years old, resident of the great state of North Carolina. Lover of music, tea, unicorns, traveling and daydreaming. I have one blog about my semester abroad in the Netherlands. The other is a compilation of things I've written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

