Ik woon in Leiden nu

Mini Mexican fiesta

‘I live in Leiden now.’ Crazy to think that I’ve been here over four weeks!

I was in a particularly good mood today. I woke up late and felt well rested. This weekend has not been entirely eventful. I don’t think I’m ever going to get used to not having a place to just hangout. In Raleigh my friends and I will all say “let’s meet up at The Morning Times” or so-in-so’s house and we spend time together. There really isn’t anywhere to do that here. We go to this one place called Bagels and Beans (a cafe) sometimes but it just doesn’t feel the same. This experience is teaching me that my life back home really ISN’T as boring as I think it is sometimes. I have no idea where everyone that lives here hangs out. Maybe eventually I’ll figure it out. I figured living in a international students dorm would it would be more eventful around the building but it isn’t. I live on the ground floor and we don’t have access to any of the other floors. So when we want to go upstairs to hangout we have to have someone let us in which gets old. Classes have picked up and so far I’m not all that pleased- I miss Peace. I do however like my photography class. I really have to push my camera to get results I’m actually pleased with but I’ve decided that I’m going to take good notes and invest in a good camera when I get back so that I can take pictures more often. I really enjoy it. I also want to invest in a MacBook so we’ll see gotta have goals right?! We have a short paper due every class period in Globalization and we got the first one back this week. My professor wrote that I could improve my writing skills and I honestly just laughed. He told us it was supposed to be a short, informal, opinion-type paper so that’s exactly what I did except I really did try to write formally. Next time I’m going to be extremely formal and see if that suits him better. History class doesn’t seem like it’s going to be my cup of tea despite the fact I like history. I had never heard of anything we talked about on Wednesday. I’ll just do whatever I have to do to get a good grade. Especially considering these classes are just to fill electives.

I got a care package from my family this week. I was so happy.They sent me taco and fajitas seasoning, pancake mix, syrup, granola bars (that you can’t get here), Starbucks instant coffee, tortillas, candy plus things like batteries and shampoo I like. I have another package coming sometime soon which I’m anticipating! This Saturday my friends James, Lexi and I went to the open market. I got a fresh warm stroopwaffel (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stroopwafel) which was delicious! After, I went to the store and bought ground beef and avocados so I could make Mexican for dinner tonight! I made tacos for Lexi and I. They turned out pretty good considering I had to use Gouda cheese on them since that’s pretty much all there is here. I plan to buy some chicken and make fajitas one night this week. I await the day I can get real Mexican food back in the states! I needed to take pictures for photography so I walked around the neighborhood behind my dorm building and realized there are a lot of cute areas back there I didn’t even know about. I got some good pictures and had a good time exploring. This week I am going to Utrecht for the day on Tuesday. We have to do a report on a city in the Netherlands and that’s the one I picked. Then on Friday we are going to Rotterdam with the program. I’m looking forward to both trips! And, less than 2 weeks until I go to the UK for 10 days!

I posted more pictures today.
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=107645&id=1207657232&l=fd7bbb82de

About Ivy

I'm Ivy. 23 years old, resident of the great state of North Carolina. Lover of music, tea, unicorns, traveling and daydreaming. I have one blog about my semester abroad in the Netherlands. The other is a compilation of things I've written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

