Things are good

Dutch class is over! HOORAY! We had out Dutch final exam Thursday morning (donderdag morgen in Dutch). I’m glad the class is over so we can start our normal courses. Those classes start Monday morning. We have a required course called Netherlands in it’s European Context every Monday morning. It should be interesting. I’m taking Photography, Modern European History and Globalization as well. It’s going to be weird not taking any Child Development courses. However, all the ones being offered at Peace this semester I’ve already taken. Some people who live in my dorm all decided to go to Haarlem today. I woke up with a very bad migraine so I opted not to go. Excedrin wasn’t working so I knew I’d be in a sour mood all day if I went. So, I slept in and then went to the store by myself. It was honestly nice to walk around Leiden by myself. I paid attention to what was around me more. I enjoy being by myself sometimes. Don’t worry though. It was the middle of the afternoon and the store I go to is in a residential neighborhood. It’s so windy today. My shopping bag was blown out of my hand. It’s even windier than at home on the beach. The windmills make a lot more sense to me now. I have really been missing Raleigh lately. I miss Cafe Carolina, The Morning Times, and the malls (lol) and a lot of other places. But, I know that I’ll find places that I frequent here as well. I think about how long I’ll be here and then I realize it really isn’t that long in comparison to my whole life. I’ve been doing a lot of self reflection lately. That’s part of the reason I came here. So far so good 🙂

I miss all my friends, family and professors!

About Ivy

I'm Ivy. 23 years old, resident of the great state of North Carolina. Lover of music, tea, unicorns, traveling and daydreaming. I have one blog about my semester abroad in the Netherlands. The other is a compilation of things I've written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

