Reflecting

So far Dutch class is pretty rough for the majority of us (at least in my section). The professor goes very fast- which I understand he has to because it’s the intensive course. But it’s just that- INTENSE. I am so thankful that I catch on to language quickly. By no means am I saying I understand Dutch yet but I’m trying to. A bartender at the local pub about a block from Hugo (where I and about 10 others live) told us me he wanted to see my progress in Dutch and that he would help me whenever I came in to hangout. I asked him how old he was and laughed when he told me. He’s 20. I was being served by an ‘underage’ bartender. But, like Steef told us to say “this is not America.” And I’m definitely learning that not everything we do is the right way it’s just the way that’s right for us. This is a different culture. Many of these people may look, dress and act similar to us but we aren’t the same. And that is okay! My Cross Cultural Development course is coming in handy. I notice things that others may not because I have prior knowledge about things. The kids are much quieter here (in general). I don’t hear as much screaming/yelling as I do when I’m out in the US. Or maybe it’s just the kids in Raleigh- kidding! I have been having a rough time thinking of things I want to eat. When I’m in the states food is so accessable. I can either eat in the cafeteria, go out to eat at the MANY local resturaunts or go to the grocery store and get as much food as I can afford because I can put it all in my car and drive it back. We don’t have a freezer, oven or microwave so if you know me you know that’s a problem. I have been eating pb&j, spaghetti and pea soup. If you have any quick, simple and yummy receipies (mind you I’m picky) then please e-mail me! I will put my e-mail address at the bottom of this post. I just need to eat something good. I don’t have loads of money to spend on groceries but I know eventually I’ll be able to think of things I actually want to cook. Right now nothing sounds appealing. There are a few girls here that I am getting close to. We have a similar sense of humor and enjoy being around each other. I have really missed out on a lot these past few years. It’s hard to realize that but I need to so I can deal with it. By no means am I trying to make up for everything I think I’ve missed out on but I am trying to have a good time while I’m here. I opted to do this and I’m trying to make the best of it. I really miss my parents and sister. I don’t talk to them as much as I’d like to especially my sister but maybe that will change (I’M TALKING TO YOU GWEN!)

IEHageman@peace.edu

About Ivy

I'm Ivy. 23 years old, resident of the great state of North Carolina. Lover of music, tea, unicorns, traveling and daydreaming. I have one blog about my semester abroad in the Netherlands. The other is a compilation of things I've written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

