Random Thoughts/Happenings Thus Far

So far Leiden has been a lot of fun. We have ventured around the city numerous times. No one really explained to us where anything is or how to get there so we’ve done a lot of exploring. I was finally able to buy a few things that I needed. I had to buy a new hair dryer because even though I have a converter it still blew up. The voltage was too high for it to handle. I have a cell phone now. It’s not very high tech what so ever but it was 20 euros so I can’t complain. I don’t plan on giving out the number to people outside the Netherlands. I called my parents from it once just so they could know I’m still alive and kickin’. It’s 35 cents a minute to call someone plus most providers charge whoever I’m talking to which is ridiculous.

The other morning I hadn’t eaten in I’m not real sure how long and was so hungry I felt sick. Then I remembered my mom had put a granola bar in my coat pocket. When I found it I almost cried. I joked with my friend who lives next door that you’d think we were in Uganda or something by the way we were starving. We just hadn’t had time to go to the grocery store and there is no food in the dorms. Two of my friends and I set out to find the open market. When we got there it was great and all but it didn’t have what we wanted. I was starving so I bought some french fries (which you can get pretty much anywhere at anytime here). They were so delicious and I was finally able to stop being such a you know what and walk to the store. Alas, we found the grocery store and I was finally able to purchase groceries. The store was loud and busy. And, NOTHING was in English. It was quite the experience. I bought some crackers and granola bars which are weird and I don’t like them. Next time I’ll get something else. I got quite a bit of food for 25 euros so it wasn’t too expensive. Tomorrow we pay for our residency permits which is quite a chunk of change. I’m not thrilled about shelling that out but then again I am staying here 4 months so I kinda have to. I’m excited about this upcoming week. There are two locations that have international students nights which I plan on going to. It should be interesting to see/meet people from all over the world also studying here in Leiden. We start Dutch class on Wednesday. I can’t wait to sound like a fool! At least it will make grocery shopping a little less intimidating. At least in Mexico I could make an educated guess what something was.

A few of us hungout the other night and it was a lot of fun. This is a good group of people and I know we’re going to have a good time. Our resident director Steef and his assitant Dennis are also very nice. We met a few of the other professors that will be teaching our classes. We had a sort of social the other night and they broke out wine and beer. Which was weird to have a drink with your professors.

This experience is teaching me to be more open and less uptight. Which for some reason I started being especially this past year. I’m 22 for goodness sakes I shouldn’t be a prude just yet! I’m still very excited about this experience. I was finally able to get some rest today. My feet don’t hurt as bad now which is AMAZING.

About Ivy

I'm Ivy. 23 years old, resident of the great state of North Carolina. Lover of music, tea, unicorns, traveling and daydreaming. I have one blog about my semester abroad in the Netherlands. The other is a compilation of things I've written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

